Consul General Louise Blais Meets Key Partners During Her First Official Visit to Tennessee

Consul General Louise Blais on her first official visit discussed business links between Tennessee and Canada with Governor Bill Haslam.
 
 

On October 21-22, 2014, Consul General Blais made her first trip to Nashville to meet with Tennessee Governor Bill Haslam. During the meeting, they discussed the importance of the bilateral trade between Canada and Tennessee as well as Canadian investments and their impact on the Tennessee economy: 168,000 jobs depending on trade with Canada and $14.1Billion in bilateral trade.  Tennessee is Canada’s largest trading partner in the Southeast and Canada is Tennessee’s largest export market. The Governor expressed great interest consolidating this already substantial relationship by actively exploring further trade and investment opportunities with Canada.  The Governor also conveyed his shock and condolences on the tragic events then unfolding in Ottawa. 

In addition to her meeting with the Governor, Mme. Blais met the Commissioner for Economic and Community Development of Tennessee, Bill Hagerty. He updated her on the state’s strategic agenda and highlighted where Canada might strategically fit into these priorities.

Consul General Blais also met the President of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, Ralph Shultz. Their conversation focussed on Nashville’s competitive advantages as a partner for Canada and included a review of past collaborations including two visits to Canada by the Chamber in the past two years.

The Consul General also delivered two addresses, the first to 250 music industry representatives at a SOCAN (Songwriters Association of Canada) event highlighting Canadian musical talent in Nashville and the second at a meeting of the International Council of Music Creators (CIAM).

Le Consul Général Louise Blais rencontre des partenaires clés pendant sa première visite officielle au Tennesee

Consul Général Louise Blais pour sa première visite officielle discuté des liens commerciaux entre le Tennessee et le Canada avec le gouverneur Bill Haslam.
 
 

Sur Octobre 21-22 2014, consul général Blais fait son premier voyage à Nashville pour rencontrer Tennessee gouverneur Bill Haslam. Lors de la réunion, ils ont discuté de l'importance du commerce bilatéral entre le Canada et le Tennessee ainsi que les investissements canadiens et leur impact sur l'économie Tennessee: 168 000 emplois en fonction sur le commerce avec le Canada et 14.1Billion dollars d'échanges bilatéraux. Tennessee est le plus grand partenaire commercial du Canada dans le Sud-Est et le Canada est le plus grand marché d'exportation du Tennessee. Le gouverneur a exprimé un grand intérêt de consolider cette relation déjà importante en explorant activement de nouvelles opportunités commerciales et d'investissement avec le Canada. Le gouverneur a également exprimé son choc et condoléances sur les événements tragiques qui se déroulent ensuite à Ottawa.

En plus de sa rencontre avec le gouverneur, Mme. Blais a rencontré le Commissaire pour le développement économique et communautaire du Tennessee, le projet de loi Hagerty. Il lui mis à jour sur le programme stratégique de l'État et a souligné que le Canada pourrait stratégiquement entrer dans ces priorités.

Consul général Blais a également rencontré le Président de la Chambre de commerce de Nashville, Ralph Shultz. Leur conversation a porté sur les avantages concurrentiels de Nashville en tant que partenaire pour le Canada et comprenait un examen des collaborations antérieures, y compris deux visites au Canada par la Chambre dans les deux dernières années

Le consul général a également livré deux adresses, la première de 250 représentants de l'industrie de la musique à un événement de la SOCAN (Auteurs de Chansons  Association of Canada) mettant en évidence le talent musical canadien à Nashville et le second lors d'une réunion du Conseil international des créateurs de musique (CIAM).