Ambassador Doer Talks Energy With Southern U.S. Leaders

Consul General Louise Blais and Alabama Governor Robert Bentley at Southern States Energy Board
 
 
Ambassador Gary Doer and Consul General Louise Blais attended many of the SSEB sessions.
 
 

On September 29, 2014, Ambassador Gary Doer addressed the annual meeting of the Southern States Energy Board (SSEB). He communicated key messages on the Canada-U.S. relationship, particularly on Canada as an energy partner to an audience of about 150 state legislators, officials and industry representatives.

Recently arrived Consul General Louise Blais also attended the SSEB and connected with a large number of partners from the six states covered by the Consulate General of Canada in Atlanta: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. She discussed Canada’s trade, energy and security relations with Alabama with Governor Robert Bentley and U.S. Senator Jeff Sessions.

The Ambassador argued that North America needs an energy security strategy based on four components: (a) energy efficiency; (b) renewable energy, including electricity generated by hydro power; (c) developing our oil and gas resources; and (d) innovation and improvement of infrastructure. Canada is a friendly and reliable supplier of energy. Canada’s position on the Keystone XL pipeline is essentially the same as that of the U.S. Department of State. There are well established supply chain relationships between U.S. companies and oil sands development with the result that 90 cents of every dollar Americans pay for Canadian oil comes back to the U.S.

During the meeting, two U.S. governors, Governor Robert Bentley of Alabama and Governor Earl Ray Tomblin of West Virginia, many state legislators and officials and others clearly expressed appreciation for the Canada-US energy, trade and security relationships. Many speakers acknowledged Canada as the largest foreign supplier to the U.S. of oil, natural gas, uranium and electricity.

L'ambassadeur Gary Doer parle énergie avec les États du Sud (SSEB).

Consul Général Louise Blais et gouverneur de l'Alabama Robert Bentley à Commission de l'énergie des États du Sud
 
 
L'ambassadeur Gary Doer, et le consul général Louise Blais ont participé à de nombreuses séances de sseb
 
 

Le 29 Septembre 2014, l'ambassadeur Gary Doer a abordé la réunion annuelle de la Commission de l'énergie des États du Sud (SSEB). Il a communiqué des messages clés sur les relations Canada-États-Unis, en particulier sur le Canada en tant que partenaire de l'énergie à un public de législateurs environ 150 fonctionnaires de l'Etat, et des représentants de l'industrie.

Consul général récemment arrivé Louise Blais a également assisté à la SSEB et relié à un grand nombre de partenaires issus de six pays couverts par le Consulat général du Canada à Atlanta: Alabama, Géorgie, Mississippi, Caroline du Nord, Caroline du Sud et Tennessee. Elle a discuté de commerce du Canada, de l'énergie et les relations de sécurité avec Alabama avec le gouverneur Robert Bentley et le sénateur américain Jeff Sessions.

L'ambassadeur a fait valoir que l'Amérique du Nord a besoin d'une stratégie de sécurité énergétique basé sur quatre composantes: (a) l'efficacité énergétique; (b) d'énergie renouvelable, y compris l'électricité produite par l'énergie hydraulique; (c) le développement de nos ressources pétrolières et gazières; et (d) l'innovation et l'amélioration des infrastructures. Le Canada est un fournisseur amical et fiable d'énergie. La position du Canada sur le projet de pipeline Keystone XL est essentiellement la même que celle du Département d'État américain. Il existe des relations de la chaîne d'approvisionnement entre les entreprises américaines et le développement des sables bitumineux avec le résultat que 90 cents de chaque dollar Américains paient pour le pétrole canadien revient aux États-Unis bien établis

Lors de la réunion, deux gouverneurs américains, le gouverneur Robert Bentley de l'Alabama et le gouverneur Earl Ray Tomblin de Virginie-Occidentale, de nombreux législateurs et fonctionnaires de l'Etat et d'autres clairement exprimé leur gratitude pour les relations énergétiques, commerciales et de sécurité canado-américaines. De nombreux orateurs ont reconnu le Canada comme le plus grand fournisseur étranger aux États-Unis de pétrole, gaz naturel, uranium et d'électricité.