Consul General Louise Blais

A message from Louise Blais, Consul General of Canada in Atlanta, Georgia

I continue to be excited by the many challenges and opportunities inherent in my responsibilities as Canada’s Consul General in Atlanta, representing Canada in six states in the Southeast: Alabama, Georgia, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee.

Historic links between Canada and the Southeast go back to before the American Revolution and hundreds of thousands of Canadians visit the region every year, especially during the northern winter. We are pleased to provide consular services to Canadians living in or visiting the six states.

Canadians and Americans have been close security partners from the two World Wars to more recent efforts in Afghanistan. Members of Canada’s Armed Forces serve with their American counterparts at a number of U.S. bases in the Southeast.

Canada is the largest or the second largest export market for each of the six states and total two-way trade between Canada and this region was more than $53 billion in 2014. It is estimated that over one million jobs in this territory depend of trade with Canada. A large number of Canadian investors have made substantial commitments in the region. Canada remains the largest foreign supplier of energy to the United States.

I believe there is further potential for growth in these relationships and am looking forward to working with partners and friends here in the Southeast to achieve this objective.


Biography - Consul General Louise Blais

Louise Blais began her professional career at Interpol and the National Archives of Canada before joining the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade in 1996.  She has served abroad as Counsellor at the Embassy in Washington and Tokyo and as Minister-Counsellor for Political Affairs at the Embassy in Paris.  In Ottawa, she has held the position of Director of the Public Diplomacy Division and Executive Director of the Rotational Staff Division before being appointed Consul General of Canada in Atlanta.

Louise Blais has served on numerous boards including the Helen Hayes Awards, the Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington and the Tokyo International Film Festival. She is also an alum of the Herbert Quandt Foundation’s Trans-Atlantic and World Young Leaders Forum (2001, 2002, and 2005).

Louise Blais holds a B.A. from McGill University.  She is married and has two sons.

 Consul General - HOM_BlaisLouise.jpg
Connect with us on Twitter

Consul général Louise Blais

Un message de Louise Blais, Consul général du Canada à Atlanta, en Géorgie

Je suis toujours passionnée par les multiples possibilités et les nombreux défis inhérents à mes responsabilités à titre de consule générale du Canada à Atlanta, représentant le pays dans six États du Sud-Est : Alabama, Géorgie, Mississippi, Caroline du Nord, Caroline du Sud et Tennessee.

Les liens historiques entre le Canada et le Sud-Est datent d’avant la Révolution américaine, et des centaines de milliers de Canadiens visitent la région chaque année, surtout pendant l’hiver boréal. Nous sommes heureux de fournir des services consulaires aux Canadiens qui résident dans les six États ou qui y viennent en visite.

Les Canadiens et les Américains sont de proches partenaires en matière de sécurité depuis les deux guerres mondiales jusqu’aux plus récentes interventions en Afghanistan. Des membres des Forces armées canadiennes servent aux côtés de leurs homologues américains dans un certain nombre de bases américaines réparties dans l’ensemble du Sud-Est.

Le Canada est le plus grand ou le deuxième plus grand marché d’exportation pour chacun des six États, et la valeur des échanges bilatéraux entre le Canada et cette région a atteint plus de 53 milliards de dollars en 2014. Selon les estimations, plus d’un million d’emplois dans ce territoire dépendent du commerce avec le Canada. Un grand nombre d’investisseurs canadiens ont réalisé des investissements substantiels dans la région. Par ailleurs, le Canada demeure le plus grand fournisseur d’énergie étranger aux États-Unis.

Je suis convaincue que ces partenariats recèlent encore un grand potentiel de croissance et je suis impatiente de travailler avec nos partenaires et nos amis ici-même dans le Sud-Est afin d’atteindre cet objectif.


Biographie – Consul général Louise Blais

Louise Blais a débuté sa carrière professionnelle chez Interpol et aux Archives nationales du Canada avant de se joindre au Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international en 1996.  Elle représenta le Canada à l’étranger comme Conseillère à l’Ambassade à Washington, à l’Ambassade à Tokyo ainsi que comme Ministre-conseiller, Politique à l’Ambassade à Paris.  À Ottawa, elle fut Directrice de la Division de la diplomatie ouverte et Directrice exécutive des Affectations avant d’être nommée Consul général à Atlanta.

Louise Blais a siégé sur plusieurs comité d’administration, tel les Helen Hayes Awards, le Cultural Alliance of Greater Washington et le Festival international des films de Tokyo.  Elle est une ancienne du forum trans-atlantique et mondial pour jeunes leaders de la Fondation Herbert Quandt (2001, 2002, et 2005).

Elle détient un Baccalauréat de l’Université McGill.  Elle est mariée et a deux fils.

 Consul General - HOM_BlaisLouise.jpg
Connectez avec nous sur Twitter