Mainers help their neighbours in Lac-Mégantic in their time of need

 Lac-Mégantic, QC

Following a train derailment which claimed at least 42 lives and devastated a beautiful Quebec town, firefighters from several communities in Franklin County, Maine, immediately responded to help combat the blaze and provide much-needed assistance to the residents of Lac-Mégantic.

While the first responders ultimately returned to Maine, their willingness to help their neighbours didn’t end there.

The town of Farmington, ME–the sister city of Lac-Mégantic‒established a relief fund to help with the recovery.

Several other towns in Maine also pledged financial support to the town and its residents.

The matter received attention from many Mainers, including U.S. Senator Angus King who praised both Québec and Maine first responders in a speech on the Senate floor, Maine Governor Paul LePage, who attended the memorial mass service for the victims, and Maine State Legislators, who passed a joint resolution to express the State’s sympathy and condolences.

Additionally, libraries across the State of Maine are collecting book donations to help rebuild the library in Lac-Mégantic which was destroyed by the explosion, an effort led by the Farmington Public Library.

Maine’s compassion following this tragedy serves as another example of the enduring friendship between New England and Canada and the two countries’ commitment to helping each other in times of need.

Les résidents du Maine aident leurs voisins au Lac-Mégantic pendant cette période des plus difficiles

 Lac-Mégantic, Québec

Suite à un déraillement de train qui a fait au moins 42 victimes et qui a dévasté une belle ville du Québec, des pompiers de plusieurs communautés du comté de Franklin au Maine ont immédiatement répondu à l’appel en aidant à combattre les flammes et en fournissant une assistance très nécessaire aux résidents du Lac-Mégantic.

Bien que ces pompiers soient éventuellement rentrés chez eux au Maine, leur volonté d’aider leurs voisins ne s’est pas arrêtée là.

La ville de Farmington au Maine, la ville sœur du Lac-Mégantic, a mis en place un fonds de secours pour contribuer au rétablissement de la ville.

Plusieurs autres villes du Maine ont aussi promis une aide financière à la ville et ses résidents.

La situation a reçu une attention considérable par les résidents du Maine, dont le sénateur américain Angus King qui a rendu hommage aux premiers répondants du Québec et du Maine lors d’un discours devant le Sénat, le gouverneur du Maine Paul LePage, qui était présent lors de la messe commémorative pour les victimes ainsi que les législateurs de l’état du Maine qui ont adopté une résolution conjointe pour exprimer les sympathies et les condoléances de la part de l’état.

De plus, suivant l’initiative de la Farmington Public Library, les bibliothèques à travers l’état du Maine recueillent des dons de livres pour aider à rebâtir la bibliothèque du Lac-Mégantic qui a été détruite par l’explosion.

La compassion de l’état du Maine suite à cette tragédie souligne à nouveau les liens d’amitié entre la Nouvelle-Angleterre et le Canada et l’engagement des deux pays à s’entraider pendant les moments les plus difficiles.