Canada Day in Iowa: Connecting Leaders at the Capitol and Online

Bookmark and Share
Consul General Jamshed Merchant en route to Des Moines from Minneapolis, Iowa-Canada fact sheet in hand.
 
 
Guests were encouraged to join in the #CanadaInIA conversation on Twitter for a chance to win Team Canada Olympic mittens.
 
 
Representative Wolfe and Representative Miller share a smile with Consul General Merchant.
 
 

Did you know that Canada is Iowa’s top trading partner?

Or that Iowa’s oldest city, Dubuque, takes its name from French-Canadian fur trader Julien Dubuque?

From Julien Dubuque to current Iowa State Cyclones basketball star Melvin Ejim, Canadians have long had an important presence in Iowa. And in 2012, 30 percent of everything Iowa sold to the world went to Canada - more than the next three trading partners combined.

To celebrate this relationship, Iowa’s legislative leaders invited Canadian Consul General Jamshed Merchant and a delegation of legislators from the province of Saskatchewan to spend a day in Des Moines, Iowa’s state Capitol.

This year’s event helped build relationships and boost awareness of the important political and economic relationship that exists between Canada and Iowa.

Thanks to the hard work of Honorary Consul Mary Lawyer — herself a native Iowan — and the joint International Relations committee, both the House and Senate chambers of the Iowa legislature adopted resolutions celebrating the strong ties between Iowa and Canada.

Canadian Consul General Jamshed Merchant met with Iowa Governor Branstad and Lt. Governor Reynolds, who are strong supporters of the economic, trade and energy relationship between Iowa and Canada, as well as with
the Iowa Economic Development Agency. 

The day concluded with a reception at Iowa’s World Food Prize Hall of Laureates. Legislators, business leaders and members of the media celebrated the Iowa-Canada relationship while a live Twitter wall brought the in-person and online discussions together.

Forging Relationships Online with #CanadaInIA

Through participation in the event on Twitter throughout the day, a wide array of people helped tell the story of the relationship that exists between Canada and Iowa.

The #CanadaInIA hashtag attracted more than 200 tweets from 73 different contributors - including the Governor and Lt. Governor - each bringing a unique and valuable perspective to the online discussion.

Canada will continue to use the hashtag to keep the conversation going and promote events in the future, keeping lines of communication open with interested people all around the continent.

Canadian and Iowans alike can re-live the day through tweets and photographs on Storify.

La fête du Canada en Iowa : Échanges entre dirigeants au Capitole et via Internet

Partagez et faite un signet
Le consul général Jamshed Merchant se dirigeant vers Des Moines depuis Minneapolis, avec en mains une fiche de renseignements sur les relations entre l’Iowa et le Canada.
 
 
Les invités étaient encouragés à participer à la conversation sur Twitter, avec le mot-clic #CanadaInIA, et ainsi courir la chance de gagner des mitaines de l’équipe olympique canadienne.
 
 
Les représentants Wolfe et Miller échangent un sourire avec le consul général Merchant.
 
 

Savez-vous que le Canada est le premier partenaire commercial de l’Iowa?

Ou que la plus vieille ville de cet État, Dubuque, doit son nom au commerçant de fourrures canadien-français Julien Dubuque?

De Julien Dubuque à Melvin Ejim, joueur étoile de basketball des Cyclones de l’Université d’Iowa, les Canadiens ont toujours occupé une place importante en Iowa. En 2012, le Canada a acheté 30 % de tous les produits et services vendus par cet État dans le monde. C’est plus que la somme des achats effectués par les trois partenaires commerciaux qui suivent l’Iowa.

Pour souligner cette relation privilégiée, les membres de la Chambre de l’Iowa ont invité le consul général canadien Jamshed Merchant, ainsi qu’une délégation de législateurs de la Saskatchewan, à passer une journée à Des Moines, siège du Capitole de l’Iowa.

Cette rencontre a contribué à tisser des liens et à mettre en lumière les relations politiques et économiques importantes qui existent entre le Canada et l’Iowa.

Grâce aux efforts de la consule honoraire Mary Lawyer – elle-même native de l’Iowa – et du comité mixte sur les relations internationales, les deux chambres législatives de l’Iowa, celle des représentants et le Sénat, ont adopté des résolutions rappelant les liens solides qui unissent l’Iowa et le Canada.

Le consul général Jamshed Merchant a rencontré le gouverneur Branstad et la lieutenante-gouverneure Reynolds, deux ardents défenseurs de l’Agence de développement économique de l’Iowa, ainsi que des relations entre l’Iowa et notre pays sur les plans économique, commercial et énergétique.

La journée s’est terminée par une réception dans la salle des lauréats du Prix mondial de l’alimentation de l’Iowa. Législateurs, chefs d’entreprise et membres des médias ont célébré ensemble et un mur Twitter en direct a permis d’entremêler les discussions en personne et en ligne.  

Forger des relations en ligne avec #CanadaInIA

En participant sur Twitter aux célébrations tout au long de la journée, un groupe impressionnant de gens ont contribué à diffuser de l’information sur les relations entre les deux partenaires.

Le mot-clic #CanadaInIA a suscité au-delà de 200 gazouillis de la part de 73 intervenants différents, dont le gouverneur et la lieutenante-gouverneure, qui ont chacun apporté un éclairage unique et intéressant aux discussions en ligne.

Le Canada continuera d’utiliser ce mot-clic pour faire la promotion d’activités futures, poursuivre les discussions et maintenir la communication avec les intéressés sur tout le continent.

Les Canadiens et les Ioniens peuvent revivre cette journée particulière, à l’aide de gazouillis et de photographies, sur Storify.