Canadian ballet promotes indigenous rights in OAS

Obijway and Cree Elders Mel and Shirley Chartrand opens the OAS event.
 

RWB Ballet dancers Tristan Dobrowney and Catherine Bonnell gives a highly emotive performance.
 

Tina Keeper, Andre Lewis, Ry Moran, Ambassador Loten speak about the issue of Truth and Reconcilliation.
 

Reception in the Aztec Patio.
 

An innovative mix of ballet and human rights helped to promote indigenous rights and commemorate International Human Rights Day at the Organization of American States (OAS) in Washington, D.C.

The Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB) performed a highly evocative performance sequence from the ballet “Going Home Star – Truth and Reconciliation” which features music by Canadian throat singer Tanya Tagaq. The event, hosted by Canada’s Permanent Mission to the OAS was followed by a high level discussion panel on Truth and Reconciliation in Canada.

Human rights through artistry

The event was opened by Obijway and Cree Elders Mel and Shirley Chartrand who explained to the audience that they had travelled from Canada to Washington D.C. on their own initiative because they were so happy and grateful that at last they felt safe to tell their story. After a brief talk, the Elders led the crowd in a short spiritual blessing with a tobacco pouch.

The ballet, “Going Home Star”, tells the story of a young indigenous woman who helps her new partner deal with his past traumas. This ballet was developed with support from the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada, as part of an effort to commemorate and remember the stories of survivors of Canada’s Residential Schools.

Many participants said that it was one of the best and most touching events ever held at the OAS, and that Canada should be very proud. Ambassador Jennifer Loten, Permanent Representative   of Canada to the OAS, explained that sometimes the emotional issues that arise from the violation of human rights are best expressed through alternative means of communication, such as artistic expression. Andre Lewis, RWB’s Artistic Director, explained how dance has the capacity to magnify the message of truth and reconciliation because it reaches an audience that doesn't normally deal with the issue. Ry Moran, Director of the National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation also spoke about the process moving forward, and Actress and Producer, Tina Keeper, spoke about what this process means to Canadians.

Dialogue and communication

When the floor opened for comments after the ballet performance, Ambassadors from a number of OAS countries recognized that talking openly about human rights challenges is the appropriate way to address them.

Emilio Alvarez Icaza, the Executive Director of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights, closed the event by commending Canada’s example of dialogue and communication and for supporting the important message of Truth and Reconciliation and indigenous peoples in Canada.

This unique combination of Canadian art and culture facilitated the delivery of difficult messaging and promoted indigenous rights. This event will not be forgotten at the OAS or by member states when discussing human rights in the future. It will also serve as a platform for Canada to sustain a dialogue on reconciliation through the hemisphere and further advance indigenous issues at the OAS.

Ballet canadien pour les droits des peuples autochtones à l’OEA

Les aînés ojibwés et cris Mel et Shirley Chartrand donnent le coup d’envoi de l’événement de l’OEA.
 

Les danseurs de ballet du RWB Tristan Dobrowney et Catherine Bonnell donnent une prestation chargée d’émotion.
 

Tina Keeper, Andre Lewis, Ry Moran et l’ambassadrice Loten parlent de l’enjeu de vérité et de reconciliation.
 

Réception sur le patio aztèque.
 

Un mélange original de ballet et de droits de la personne a aidé la progression des droits des peuples autochtones, ainsi que la commémoration de la Journée internationale des droits de la personne à l’Organisation des États Américains (OEA) à Washington, D.C.

Le Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB) a exécuté un extrait très évocateur du ballet « Going Home Star – Truth and Reconciliation », sur fond musical de l’interprète de chant guttural Tanya Tagaq. La Délégation permanente du Canada à l’OEA était l’hôte de l’événement, qui a été suivi d’un débat de fond sur la vérité et la réconciliation au Canada.

Les droits de la personne par l’art

L’événement a pris son envol avec les aînés ojibwés et cris Mel et Shirley Chartrand, qui ont expliqué aux personnes présentes avoir fait le voyage du Canada à Washington D.C. de leur propre chef en raison de la chance qu’ils ont d’enfin pouvoir raconter leur histoire sans crainte. Après une brève allocution, les aînés ont entraîné la foule dans une courte bénédiction spirituelle avec une blague à tabac.

Le ballet, « Going Home Star », raconte l’histoire d’une jeune Autochtone qui aide son nouveau partenaire à faire la paix avec ses traumatismes du passé. Ce ballet a été créé avec l’appui de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada dans le cadre d’un effort visant à commémorer et ne jamais oublier les histoires des survivantes et survivants des pensionnats canadiens.

Nombre de participants ont affirmé qu’il s’agissait d’un des meilleurs événements et parmi les plus touchants de l’histoire de l’OEA et que le Canada a de quoi être fier. L’ambassadrice Jennifer Loten, représentante permanente du Canada à l’OEA, a expliqué que parfois, des moyens de communication inhabituels tels que l’expression artistique constituent la meilleure façon d’exprimer les difficultés émotionnelles qui découlent de la violation des droits de la personne. Andre Lewis, directeur artistique du RWB, a expliqué comment la danse peut amplifier le message de vérité et de réconciliation en atteignant un public qui, d’ordinaire, n’est pas concerné par la question. Ry Moran, directeur du Centre national pour la vérité et réconciliation, a aussi pris la parole pour parler de la progression du processus et Tina Keeper, actrice et réalisatrice, a abordé la signification de ce processus pour la population canadienne.

Dialogue et communication

Lorsqu’on a ouvert la séance aux commentaires après la prestation de ballet, des ambassadeurs de plusieurs pays de l’OEA ont reconnu qu’il faut parler ouvertement des défis liés aux droits de la personne pour les relever.

Emilio Alvarez Icaza, directeur administratif de la Commission interaméricaine des droits de l’homme, a clôturé l’événement en louant l’exemple canadien de dialogue et de communication et le soutien du pays envers l’important message de vérité et de réconciliation, ainsi que la cause des peuples autochtones du Canada.

Cette combinaison unique d’art et de culture canadiens a facilité la communication de messages difficiles et la promotion des droits des peuples autochtones. Cet événement restera à l’esprit de l’OEA et des États membres lors de discussions à venir sur les droits de la personne, et ce, en plus de servir de plateforme pour le Canada favorisant un dialogue soutenu portant sur la réconciliation à la grandeur de l’hémisphère, ainsi que la progression des enjeux autochtones au sein de l’OEA.