Celebrating the Month of the Francophonie in Washington

Under the direction of Principal Conductor Kent Nagano, the Montréal Orchestra Symphony performs at The Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. March 14, 2016.

Ambassador David MacNaughton and M. Lucien Bouchard, former Premier of Québec and Ambassador of Canada to France.

Ambassador David MacNaughton and M. Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montréal and former Member of Parliament.

In March, Washington, D.C. held its annual Mois de la Francophonie celebration of French language and culture with numerous events taking place around the city. Since launching in Washington in 2001, this celebration has brought together more than 40 embassies and partners to provide the city with Francophone cultural experiences and engagement of the Francophonie community.

The Francophonie is an international organization that represents the diverse linguistic world of the French language. Since 1970, the goal of the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie has been to connect and support its 80 member states and governments. Canada is a proud member that shares the organizations goals of promoting French language, peace, democracy, and respect for human rights. 

Reception for the Montréal Symphony Concert

As part of these celebrations, Canadian Ambassador to the United States David MacNaughton hosted a reception for Montréal Symphony Orchestra ahead of their performance at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, which was also the start of their U.S. tour. The embassy welcomed M. Lucien Bouchard, former Premier of Québec, and chair of the Orchestra Symphony’s board and M. Denis Coderre, Mayor of Montréal, as well as other ambassadors and Francophonie guests in Washington. This performance marks an important occasion for the orchestra, as their last U.S. tour of this scale occurred 25 years ago. The Montreal Symphony Orchestra recently has been active on the international scene for years with highly successful tours in Europe, Asia, and Latin America.

La Grande Fêtê de la Francophonie

The Canadian Embassy and the office of Quebec in Washington also participated in the 2016 Grande Fête de la Francophonie, a yearly event featuring culinary tastings, concerts, films, performing arts and more. Representatives from over 30 embassies, from Canada, to Cameroon, to Switzerland, shared their francophone heritage through culinary specialties, culture, and traditions to more than 1000 guests. The guests that visited Canada`s stand thoroughly enjoyed salmon from New Brunswick that was specially smoked for the event and tasteful wine from Ontario and British Columbia. Once again, the event was a great way to celebrate the international Francophone community and promote Canadian cusine.

Célébration du Mois de la Francophonie à Washington

Sous la direction musicale de Kent Nagano, chef attitré de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’orchestre a donné un concert au John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts à Washington D.C., le 14 mars 2016.

L’ambassadeur David MacNaughton et M. Lucien Bouchard, ancien premier ministre du Québec et ancien ambassadeur du Canada en France.

L’ambassadeur David MacNaughton et M. Denis Coderre, maire de Montréal et ancien membre du Parlement.

C’est par de nombreux événements qui se sont déroulés un peu partout dans la ville durant le mois de mars, Mois de la Francophonie, que Washington a célébré la langue et la culture françaises. Depuis 2001, année où cette célébration a débuté à Washington, elle a rassemblé plus de 40 ambassades et partenaires permettant ainsi à la ville de profiter d’expériences culturelles francophones et de l’engagement de la communauté de la Francophonie.

L’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie représente la diversité du monde linguistique de la langue française. Depuis 1970, l’objectif de cette organisation a été de soutenir les 80 États et gouvernements qui en sont membres et de les aider à communiquer ensemble. Le Canada en fait fièrement partie, et il partage les objectifs de l’organisation de promouvoir la langue française, la paix, la démocratie et le respect des droits de la personne.

Réception à l’occasion du concert de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal

Dans le cadre de ces célébrations, l’ambassadeur du Canada aux États-Unis David MacNaughton a offert une réception en l’honneur de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal avant la présentation du concert de l’Orchestre au John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, concert qui était le premier d’une tournée aux É.-U. L’ambassade a alors accueilli à Washington M. Lucien Bouchard, ancien premier ministre du Québec et actuel président du conseil d’administration de l’Orchestre symphonique, M. Denis Coderre, maire de Montréal, ainsi que d’autres ambassadeurs et invités de la Francophonie. Ce concert était un moment important pour l’orchestre, puisque sa dernière tournée de cette envergure aux É.-U. datait d’il y a 25 ans. L’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal est actif depuis des années sur la scène internationale, et il a effectué des tournées très réussies en Europe, en Asie et en Amérique latine.

La Grande Fête de la Francophonie

L’ambassade du Canada et le Bureau du Québec à Washington ont également participé à l’édition 2016 de la Grande Fête de la Francophonie, un événement présentant dégustations, concerts, films, arts du spectacle et plus. Des représentants de plus de 30 ambassades, notamment celles du Canada, du Cameroun et de la Suisse, ont partagé leur patrimoine francophone à plus de 1 000 invités en présentant des spécialités culinaires, leur culture et leurs traditions. Les personnes qui ont visité le kiosque du Canada ont vraiment apprécié le saumon du Nouveau-Brunswick qui avait été fumé spécialement pour l’événement; elles ont aussi pu déguster du très bon vin de l’Ontario et de la Colombie-Britannique. Une fois encore, l’événement a été une excellente façon de célébrer la communauté francophone internationale et de promouvoir la cuisine canadienne.